2016 winners

Leonardo Royal Hotel London Tower Bridge
5 December 2019

Community Engagement Award

Winner: Dragados, DSJV C305 Crossrail Eastern Running Tunnels
Highly commended: City of Copenhagen and Ramboll, North Habour Link

Design Innovation of the Year

Winner: Nicholson Construction, Bessac and Arup, Norris Cut Utility Relocation Project

Sponsored by:

​​  ​ ​

Global Tunnelling Team of the Year

Winner: FAST Consortium, Riyadh Metro (Yellow, Green, Purple Lines)
Highly commended: Dragados, DSJV C305 Crossrail Eastern Running Tunnels

Sponsored by:

    ​ ​

Ground Investigation and Monitoring Award

Winner: United Utilities/Murphy/Fugro, Haweswater Aqueduct - Rapid scanning condition assessment system

Judges Supreme Award

Winner: Dragados

Product / Equipment Innovation of the Year

Winner: Alstom TSO Costain Joint Venture, Automated Tunnel Drilling Solution
Highly commended: BFK, Farringdon Station - The Transformable Bogie and Shutter System

Safety Initiative of the Year

Winner: Barnard Construction, Eisenhower Johnson Memorial Tunnels Fixed Fire Suppression System

Specialist Tunnelling Project of the Year

Winner: Tony Gee and Partners, Taylor Woodrow and BAM Nuttall JV, District and Circle Line Underpass, Victoria Station Upgrade (VSU), London
Highly commended: Mott MacDonald, Canal Street Tunnel Emergency Repair Project

Technical Innovation of the Year

Winner: Inbye Engineering, Strength Monitoring Using Thermal Imaging (SMUTI) at Bond Street Station Upgrade

Technology Innovation of the Year

Winner: Inbye Engineering, Strength Monitoring Using Thermal Imaging (SMUTI) at Bond Street Station Upgrade


Tunnelling Project of the Year (up to $50m)

Winner: J Murphy & Sons, Farnworth Tunnel

Tunnelling Project of the Year ($50m-$500m)

Winner: Hochtief Murphy Joint Venture, Crossrail C310 Thames Tunnel
Highly commended: Vinci Construction Grands Projets, MTR Shatin to Central Link Contract 1103. Hin Keng to Diamond Hill Tunnels (SCL1103)

Tunnelling Project of the Year (over $500m)

Winner: AECOM Asia and China State Construction, Central – Wan Chai Bypass and Island Eastern Corridor Link – Causeway Bay Typhoon Shelter Section (HY/2009/15)
Highly commended: AECOM, New York City’s Second Avenue Subway Project

Sponsored by:

​  ​ ​

UK Tunnelling Team of the Year

Winner: Costain Skanska Joint Venture, The Bakerloo Line Link – Paddington

Sponsored by:

  tarmac_100.png​ ​

Young Tunneller of the Year

Winner: Senthilnath Govindaraju Thangavelu, Geoconsult
Highly commended: Shawna Von Stockhausen, Mott MacDonald

Sponsored by:

     ​ ​

By continuing to use the site you agree to our cookies policy. Accept